Gasoline Isn’t Free

I wrote this song during the Bush Administration, after the end of “Major Combat Operations” when shit really hit the fan and when we were supplying arms and training to people we would later fight as the insurgency (read:  religious civil war) was beginning to explode.  I mean no disrespect toward the members of our military, only with the way they were being used.

On September eleventh
Two thousand one
The US got an excuse
To go kill everyone
Who might be a terrorist
Or just disagrees
With President Bush’s
Foreign policies
So I joined up right after
That awful attack
Thought I’d be huntin’ Bin’ Laden
But now I’m here in Iraq
But that’s alright
Yeah it’s okay with me
‘Cause somethin’s gotta fill the tank
On my SUV

Son it’ll be alright
It’s gonna be okay
Your daddy’s gettin’ oil
For the US of A
And don’t worry about me
Take care of your mom
If I get blown up
By a Roadside bomb
There ain’t no WMD
But gasoline isn’t free

Well I know that I told you
That I’d be home soon
But the pipeline needs guardin’
So I’m here ’till next June
A buddy of mine
From the striker brigade
Got killed by a rocket
Propelled grenade
Now I’m writin’ this letter
To his family
Tellin’ them of his courage
And his bravery
And just as he was dyin’
He said this to me
I sacrificed all
For Big Energy

Son it’ll be alright
It’s gonna be okay
Your daddy’s gettin’ oil
For the US of A
And don’t worry about me
Just try and stay calm
If this war turns into
Another Vietnam
Not fightin’ for democracy
But gasoline isn’t free

All the people we freed
Stabbed us in the back
They say that their oil
Belongs to Iraq
More fightin’ now
Then under Saddam
Everybody’s wearin’
A suicide bomb
They burn our flags
Chant Die USA
But until It’s pumped dry
We ain’t goin’ away
Yeah they burn our flags
Chant Die USA
But until it’s sucked dry
We ain’t goin’ away

Son it’ll be alright
It’s gonna be okay
Your daddy’s gettin’ oil
For the US of A
And don’t worry about me
Take care of your mom
If I get blown up
By a roadside bomb
There an’t no WMD
But gasoline isn’t free

I’m bein’ all that I can be
‘Cause gasoline isn’t free

Yeah I shoot everything I see
‘Cause gasoline isn’t free

© Joshua Wrenn, 2005

If I can find the recording, and get to a computer with a CD drive, I will upload the actual song for you at some point.  

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

6 thoughts on “Gasoline Isn’t Free”

  1. Dick Cheny, D. Rumsfeld, and the rest of the gang are still making the rounds of talk shows, and still unapologetic. The least they can do is just disappear from the public eyes, and mull over what they have done to the country.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The craziness people exhibited in their refusal to ask questions about the real war, the real causes, and what would happen when a regionally stabilizing force was removed from power with no strong power in it’s place continue to boggle my mind. When you arm the entire world and are suddenly shocked when people who never liked you but like someone else less decide to turn on you, you are part of the problem.

      Like

  2. I’ve read that at that time, nobody could question the administration, otherwise, the person would be accused of being unpatriotic. Bush, et al, could do just about anything. 9/11 was a tragic event…. but what happened to the country was even more tragic, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. And yes, it was tough. I moved out of my hometown to Seattle during the beginning of the second gulf war and part of the reason why is because the people here were completely brainwashed and still reeling from the effects of 9/11. Not realizing that throwing us into huge debt, opening up power vacuums in the middle east for the more extreme to fill, was exactly what Al Qaeda wanted to happen.

      Like

Comments appreciated

