The Greatest Movie Of All Time

Hello dear reader(s)!

Notice that I did not say my favorite movie of all time.  My favorite movie, for entertainment, well, that is probably The Boondock Saints or I Love You, Man.  But the greatest movie?  The most powerful, moving, important movie?  Without a doubt in my mind it is Schindler’s List.  There are many great movies, but this one is such a stunning masterpiece, that Spielberg can never tarnish his reputation, even after making Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

No other movie so brilliantly reflects both the darkness of humanity and the heroic compassion.  No other movie speaks so eloquently about the dangers of giving in to the need to feel superior and the ability one person has to make a real difference and literally save lives.  Spielberg’s use of black and white, to echo the actual footage of the time is so effective in bringing back the emotion one sees when they first see the horrific chapter in human history.  It made me want to learn even more about the Holocaust, the attitudes that led up to it, other attempts at genocide, and the human ability to stand up to those who would dehumanize others or try to categorize others to advance their power.

I have to thank Andrew at adopting james, for reminding me of this film in his post about Spielberg today.  Head on over and check it out.

I have come across many posts and tweets and other opinions expressed on social media that has me scratching my head.  It is the same “people need to accept personal responsibility for their lives” refrain that was used to further persuade people that the Jews deserved the treatment they were getting because they could not get out of the system that was brutally oppressing for years.  And that led to further laws that would make it even harder for the people to make it.  And still some did, which just served as evidence in the minds of the hateful that if one tries hard enough, one can overcome any obstacle.  Does this sound familiar?  It is happening now.  I ask you to put yourself in the old, worn out shoes of the Jews who were literally walled off into ghettos (as opposed to figuratively with minorities today) and ask you to think about whether you could “pull yourself up by your bootstraps” against a system working to keep you down.  Now apply it to the cases of today.  Accept some personal responsibility of showing empathy.

It is easy to blame other people and say they are not working hard enough in order to ignore the realities of the suffering that is happening around you.  They did it with the Jews, they did it with the Armenians, they do it with people who are ill, they do it with those in poverty.  How long before they do it to you?

In this world, as the wealthy look to expand their power and insatiable appetites, I would like to think that their are people like Oskar Schindler.

And so I ask…are you one of them?

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

36 thoughts on “The Greatest Movie Of All Time”

  1. nice post. I did enjoy that movie and believe it is one of the most powerful movies ever made.

    Another on my list of Spielberg greats is Saving Private Ryan. I think the combination of the two were very meaningful and thought provoking pieces of work so that we wouldn’t forget the atrocities of war and the brutality of humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saving Private Ryan is another good one. I’d rank it 2 out of Spielberg’s movies, and maybe 3 or 4 on my all time greatest list. The opening storming the beach scene when Tom Hanks’ character temporarily loses his hearing due to the shot next to him is possibly my favorite scene in cinema.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. if you don’t mind subtitles check out Das Boot ( WWII submariners.. German) , Tora Tora Tora is the attack of Pearl Harbor from the Japanese POV , Mid Way is about the great battle of Mid Way , both Tora Tora Tora and Mid Way contain actual combat footage , Battle for Britain also contains actual combat footage , the Memphis Belle tells the story of young Bomber crews and also has actual combat footage .

    Schindler’s List was a powerful piece and really educated the younger generations about the Holocaust , and sadly History is repeating itself again ..repeatedly all over the globe now. Isis has become the Modern Nazi’s taking out everyone who doesn’t think or believe as they do, and their primary goal is to kill every Christian on a global scale , yet … we do nothing. I truly worry about my son’s future , will he see war or peace , will he live safe and free, or like Anne Frank and so many others, have to go into hiding , it is only a matter of time before Isis lands on our western shores in force.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ISIS doesn’t need to land, they recruit the radical here at home. The fear they have created that causes a hateful backlash against the innocent in my country is almost as scary. We don’t need a religious war, and theocracies are bad anywhere, regardless of religion. We should be more involved in destroying the beast we created (by we, I mean my government’s training and arming of them for the purposes of oil) but I truly agree with you that they are evil. No good can come of any group’s that categorize and generalize a race, peaceful beliefs, or things that shouldn’t concern them and their own personal relationship with their God.
      I liked Das Boot, Battle for Britain, and Memphis Belle. Tora Tora Tora is a bit too propaganda for me, but the rest are solid movies. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  3. Just thank you for this. My people (for lack of a better phrase) have been getting shit a hell of a lot recently. Whatever your personal opinion of Israel’s politics is, it’s so important to have posts like this out there to remind people that we are all just people and that hatred is something that has always plagued humanity P.S. I bawl when I watch this movie and The Pianist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I can’t get through the trailer without crying, but I force myself to watch the movie occasionally, just as with the actual documentaries and captured footage to remind myself not to forget that. And speaking of Israel’s politics, did you see Natalie Portman’s interview? Kind of cool, in my opinion how she approached that topic when asked.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, but I always say that on your blog. I don’t know what to make of the disconnect between social media users and–umm–the rest of humanity. According to a February 2015 ZDnet survey only 40 percent of the world’s population has ever connected to the internet, and that only 37.9 percent of the global population uses the internet at least once a year.

    http://www.zdnet.com/article/only-40-percent-of-the-global-population-ever-connected-to-the-internet-report/

    What this means is that less than 40 percent of the population has deluded itself into thinking that it represents the average in income and access to resources.

    I saw “Character is destiny” in a recent post on Flickr. I had to struggle not to respond to it.

    This idiotic and self serving assertion was soundly refuted by Theodor Reik in 1949: “How did character decide the fate of the Jews that Hitler sent to the gas chambers. How did character determine the fate of the millions of Chinese who perished in the last famine?” Fragment of a Great Confession: Theodor Reik.

    I don’t know that I have Schindler’s courage.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d like to recommend one old movie for you, and that’s the 1978 Questo sì che è amore, starring Sven Valsecchi, Christopher George, and Gay Hamilton. If you were able to get and watch it, you’d understand why.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When I was a manager at the National Film Theatre in London, they would always perpetuate this notion of some films being more worthy than others.
    If it was shot in b/w, had subtitles, and dealt with the confusion of the human condition, it was shown. Some directors got season’s whereby all of their films would be shown and single men with beards would earnestly discuss them at length in the bar afterwards.
    But a director who makes entertaining films like Spielberg getting a season? About as much chance as a fart in a hurricane!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I guess it all depends on what you mean by worthy. Like I said, it’s not my favorite for entertainment, I just love the way it is done, and brings out such strong emotion and thoughts.

      Like

      1. Worthy – and this is a description that applies most things – is rather like organic muesli. You feel you should like it, everyone bangs on about how good for you it is, but sometimes you just want something that tastes good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You make a good point there. Sometimes you do just want the sugar coating. Too much sugar can be bad for someone though, so I think balance is the way to go. Be it in film, art, music, anything really.

        Like

Comments appreciated

