7 Things That We Can Change

Hello dear reader(s)!

It is late at night where I am, and so as I type this, the UK is going to the polls in an election that will likely decide the future of the NHS.  All day, I have been on Twitter, on the Guardian, on BBC; in an attempt to understand the other issues at stake and get a feel for the direction things are going to go.  Polls show it to be a dead-heat between the Tories and Labour, but polls also showed the 2012 US Presidential election to be much closer than Mitt Romney actually experienced.  But as I was watching my Twitter feed, I noticed something that really disturbed me.  The election and political posts were not trending as high as

  • Tom Brady  Really?  You didn’t know that professional athletes cheat?  All of them?  All of the time?  Since the beginning of professional athletics?  What rock have you been living under?  Why is this news?  Steroids, videotaping play calls, the bounties, “stickum”, other PED’s, the diving in basketball and my beloved football (soccer), spit-balls, tar, etc…  Now, I dislike Tom Brady as much as any non-spoiled brat should, but this is nothing in the world of professional sports.  You pay people millions to win, they will do whatever it takes.  This is not news, this is distraction.
  • Whatever Kardashian’s lips  I don’t even know her name because I couldn’t care less.  What I do care about is that this is more important to people than real issues.  Who gives a flying fuck what a fake famous person who is famous because her fake sister fake leaked a sex tape and has a big (most likely fake) ass?  Seriously.
  • The royal baby  A country is deciding whether to choose austerity for the poor with continued tax dodging for the rich, or to choose a more populist government and you actually care about the baby of a rich glorified tourist attraction?
  • The new hamburglar  McDonald’s picked a skinnier, fitter, real-life model to replace the fatter cartoon character used to market its death.  They are perpetuating a fraud that anyone could possibly look that thin while consuming their killer “food”.  But let’s discuss whether he looks hot or like a creepy hipster, shall we?

Fascism is once again on the rise in the world.  We apparently didn’t learn our lessons from history and we are sitting back and allowing it to happen.  Racism is acceptable, classism is celebrated, and nobody is paying attention.  Sins in religion are given improper weight to justify hatred, and the oppressors are crying of persecution.  There is so much going on, and the majority is more concerned with Bruce Jenner’s sexuality.

And I understand, not everyone can focus on serious issues at all times, but so many people aren’t paying attention at all.  The US Congress, with the lowest approval ratings in history, was elected by the lowest voter turnout in decades.  The Congress that wants to establish a theocracy.  The Congress that slashed NASA’s Earth Science and Alternative Energy Budgets in an attempt to even prevent further evidence of man-made climate change and a way to slow, stop, or reverse the process, because they are on the payroll of fossil fuels.  Never mind that Tesla’s new battery system, at their proposed price point will finally make renewables more cost-effective than fossil fuels.  But let’s not bother with that, Survivor is coming back, and I might miss The Voice.

So now that the introduction is out of the way, here are 7 things we can change, if we pay attention, speak up, and vote.

  1. Everything
  2. Everything
  3. Everything
  4. Everything
  5. Everything
  6. Everything
  7. Everything

Use your brains.  Your God, your science, your whatever you believe gave them to you for a reason.

Sorry about the click-bait, but it was necessary.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

16 thoughts on “7 Things That We Can Change”

  1. Totally agree about fascism/racism/hate being on the rise. Humans don’t learn from history, and it’s terrifying. I’m not going to even get on the soapbox of my gov’t. But hubby & I do go out and vote (even when it feels useless). If we do nothing, then there truly is no excuse. Brains…it’s good to use them, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for your reply. It disturbs me when I see younger people here (gosh that makes me sound old, haha!) who don’t care about voting. I do understand their feelings, and I’ve felt the same way many a time. But if we do nothing, then we’ll gain nothing. Well, it’s late for you, so last comment from me today 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I really suppose I should try and get some sleep. I feel so old all the time with my thoughts too. And sometimes voting does seem like a waste of time, but that is only because too many people don’t do it, or don’t do it informed. Have a great day!

        Like

  2. I just had this conversation with a friend the other day. The only thing people care about are stupid, insipid headlines that don’t matter in the least. And cat videos. And anything useless that can make them laugh. Basically, they just want to be entertained. It’s so annoying. Also? Being on Twitter drives me crazy when I see the trending topics. Thanks for posting this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like entertainment too, but I think we are unbalanced as a society. I love cat videos, but it isn’t the most important thing in my life. Must have balance, grasshopper. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 2.5h left until the polling stations close – I always vote; I know a few people who spoil their ballot papers to demonstrate that they dislike all but I say, at least the candidates and political parties are trying to make a difference. I never expect any to be perfect but some will be more just for vulnerable people in our society than others and that’s what matters a lot to me! I don’t think I’ll be listening to the results during the night!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All I can think of while reading this is “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful low, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

    It’s so sad that so many people don’t pay more attention to the Lorax.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

