Duck, Duck, Goose, Bear

Hello dear reader(s)!

If you are reading this post, please send water.  Preferably in the form of heavy precipitation and mountain snow, but any water at this point will do.

I do not live in California, but where I do live is currently experiencing what is tied for the record for longest drought.

“HA!”  Climate change deniers will say, “Tied?  That just proves that there are cycles of drought weather and wetter weather and you’re just going in another cycle.”

Only…this drought is more intense than any on record.  A drought is a time frame where precipitation levels are below average.  This drought, and the one affecting much of the Western US is an extended period of time with nearly no precipitation.  The below average is FAR below average.  So much so, and for so long, that it is actually going to bring down the average.  97% of scientists agree, (and no thermodynamics does not refute that the climate is changing), our increased Carbon emissions are the likely cause.

Remember when Americans loved science?  When everyone wanted to be an astronaut?  When NASA was a respected and funded organization?  When America was innovative and a world leader?  When a vaccine was found for Polio saving millions of lives and people rejoiced instead of believing they caused Autism?  America has never been a perfect country, but we led the world in innovation at one point.  Before superstition and baseless conspiracy theories infected the common thinking.

And conspiracy theorists…We know that the government has been involved in real conspiracies.  We know that, it is fact.  You are not stupid for believing that our government is capable of secret nefarious actions against its own people.

You are stupid however, for ignoring the evidence in specific cases that proves these particular issues are NOT conspiracies.  You are stupid for not only ignoring the government putting the evidence out there (because I can understand your skepticism from the source) but you are stupid when nearly every third-party expert corroborates that evidence and the only ones who don’t have a financial interest not to.

Ignoring science and believing people like Dr. Oz, Jenny McCarthy, The Food Babe, and other self-serving, unqualified “experts” who have absolutely no expertise in the fields they are preaching about is setting you back.

I am not a scientist, I am not a mathematician, I do not excel in either subject.  But I am not anti-either of those and try my best to understand.  And when I don’t, I try to learn.  And when I can’t, I ask for help from someone a little bit more skilled in those areas.  Because I don’t get it does not make it untrue.  Because I can’t always get the numbers to equal out does not mean that they are wrong and only a mystical being could have done the things that are happening.

I can’t even begin to explain how frustrated I am by the willfully ignorant in this country.  Every time I hear someone say, “Thank God you survived your cancer,” I can’t help but grind my teeth a bit.

And then I say, “No, thank science, the doctors, the nurses, modern medicine, my family, my Bear (Hannah), my donor, and my friends.

And then some retort with, “Thank God for putting those people and those doctors and science in your life.”

And do you know what, I can’t disprove that.  I can’t.  I’m not so sure, but I can’t.  Which is why I am not Atheist but Agnostic.  However, I find it bizarre that people always go to what they can’t see, before thanking those they KNOW made a difference.  We always thank God for this and God for that, but we never thank each other for the things they have done.  Maybe if we spent a little more time acknowledging the accomplishments of others, instead of putting everything on something that can’t be proved or disproved, we might just get along better.  And if you want to send a quiet prayer of thanks to your God in your head, more power to you.  But thanking God for the work of people (especially those who may not share your beliefs) just steps all over their accomplishments.

Science is responsible for this computer.  Hard working people who have evolved high-order brains conceptualized, designed, programmed, and built it.  Or they built and programmed the robots that did.  Or they built the robots that built those robots.  To deny science in one area, while using the technology based on those same scientific principles to do so, is just laughable.

But that wasn’t even the point of this post.  The point of this post was to show you some pictures that I took this morning when Hannah and I ventured to our city’s local river and main water supply.  The water level is low.  Very low.  The ducks and geese were hungry, and I believe are having a harder time finding food because of the low, warm levels and inhospitable environment for the food they eat.  Do you care?

The great thing about all of this to me?  I don’t have children.  I wanted children, but life prevented that.  Those of you who do, what world are you going to leave them?

Now for the pictures, because at least the animals are cute.

Duck
Duck
Duck
Duck
Goose
Goose
Bear
Bear
Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

17 thoughts on “Duck, Duck, Goose, Bear”

  1. We’ve had record rainfall for the last 3 years. Hence all the flooding at the Haunted Attraction we’re building. I dearly wish I could bottle it up and send it to you and the ducks (using some form of transportation with a negligible carbon footprint that doesn’t exist yet because we won’t properly fund research for it because our leaders are all controlled by big oil/gas/coal). Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with everything you say. I grew up in the 70s, when everyone was worried about acid rain and what it was doing to the world. Then we worried about the greenhouse effect, the diminishing ozone layer and now we are on to the global warming. I am right there with you about the doctors and the nurses providing the care.
    The phrase that really gets me (much like ‘Thank God you survived cancer’ irritates you), and I hear it all the time, is when someone finds out I was in the military for a gazillion years, they always say “Thank-you for your service.” I don’t know why this irritates me so much, I guess it is because half the time it is just so automatic and appears insincere. Most people have no idea what we did (it pisses my husband off too) for all those years. Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

