What I Read on WP and Why Part 4!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Can you believe it has already been 4 weeks since I started this little thing?  Can you believe it is already Thursday morning (here in the PST)?  Can you believe in magic?  Do you?  In a young girl’s heart?

So I’m going to get write (get it?) to it, because I didn’t sleep very well last night, so the writing is not forthcoming the way it should forthcome.

You can read parts 1, 2, & 3 by clicking on their respective numbers, respectfully.

How to Break BAD  The blog is smart and silly ideas to deal with BiPolar Affective Disorder (and other stuff).  And that is exactly what you get.  Now, I do not suffer from B.A.D., but you know I have a soft spot in my ticker for bloggers who are open about their struggles with mental health.  I also like funny, and creative, which this blog has in um, clubs?  No spades.  And I get bored, so some of the ideas I try to take away the boredom.  Also you get a daily insight into what it would be like to deal with that particular issue, so I find it fascinating.  One of the earlier blogs I started following and never considered not.

macytruth  The tag line is “My spiritual journey” and sure, there is some spirituality, but there is also a lot of journey (not the Steve Perry kind).  There is also a lot of movie references to life, quality reposts (as opposed to those reposts for the sake of keeping one’s blog out there)  and just a lot of well-written, inspiring posts that let you know that other people might also be searching for roughly the same things you are, in their own way.

My Green Nook  I have a black thumb of death.  Charlotte has a green thumb.  This blog is a lot of fun, and very educational if you are at all interested in botany, growing anything, environmental issues, sustainable living, and things you as the average person may be able to do to make a positive difference for the rest of humanity and the other species in this world.  With tips on how to grow some of the plants, it may prove to be a useful resource for when I am medically permitted to handle them again, and for my wife when she feels like getting her hands dirty in the dirt (something she loves to do anyway).

Fill Your Own Glass  The tag line is, “A realistic approach to an optimistic life” and that is hitting the nail right on the butt.  No, the head.  This blog isn’t one of those, “Tell the universe you want to be happy and it will be so” type of blogs.  It is actually the thoughts of the author, taking the negative that does in fact happen, and finding a way through it, along with asking that people do the same.  Basically.  That is how I interpret it.  Though I occasionally debate some of her ideas, I respect those ideas and her, and she is always respectful when we do disagree.  That is about as realistically optimistic as one can be.  Acknowledging different perspectives and points of view and being able to keep things on a civil level and find peace in the things one may not like.  Definitely one of my favorites for those times I actually try to get the hamsters in my head moving on their wheel.

All Things Chronic  A resource for sufferers of chronic pain, this blog is a little bit of everything.  You don’t have to suffer from chronic pain to relate.  If you’ve ever experienced pain for a long time, or an illness, or a disability, or poverty, or just want to live in a world where people help each other, this is a great blog to follow.  According to the author, some people do not like the frequency and amount of posts, but I’ve been following this blog for some time, and if the topic doesn’t interest me, I have read it already, or if it links to Bloomberg (because I hate Bloomberg), I just scroll past.  It is that easy.  Most of the time I find myself reading the posts however, and liking the wonderful pictures of New Mexico, presented through the eye of someone looking at nature as therapy.  It also doesn’t hurt that many of the posts are related to the benefits of cannabis, the legalization of which I strongly support.  Not to mention those posts do a great job of making Chris Christie look even stupider, something I also strongly support.

Kendall Kessler Art  An art blog (really? with art in the title? no….) with a little journal type writing thrown in as you scroll through the amazing work of this artist.  My favorite pieces are the realistic subjects with the surreal colors.  It is, to me, as if you are looking at every thing painted during a very intense sunset.  Just wonderful stuff.

SherinaSpeaks  Okay this blog pisses me off.  Not in a way you might think.  It pisses me off because it is one of the ones that for some reason glitches out of my Reader and I have to hunt it down.  However, it is always worth the hunt because the writing is very thoughtful.  Even in an interview type post (that I only read today, thanks to the stupid aforementioned glitch) she put a unique spin by limiting the responses to 10 words.  In doing so, it turned a same-old, same-old post into one worth reading.  As you may know, I am not a big fan of prompts, but when someone takes one and makes it their own, I am all for it.  And this blog is its own, taking things from the ordinary to the extraordinary, and usually funny.

Okay dear reader(s)!  Go forth and check them out.  Like what you like, follow what you like, and send me gifts.  Or at least figure out a way to stop the cottonwood trees from spewing their itchy allergy causing fluff into my world.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

15 thoughts on “What I Read on WP and Why Part 4!”

  1. Josh, thanks for the shout out! I am happy to see that you interpret my intentions for my blog exactly as I hoped they would be interpreted. You have become one of my favorite people to disagree with because when you do offer a differing viewpoint you bring valid points for consideration to the table without being dismissive or rude.

    Your posts either have me laughing, shaking my head, or saying “WTF?”, but they never fail to evoke some type of reaction. I look forward to checking out the other blogs you highlighted, too.

    Best,
    Karen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn, Josh, I’m getting all teary-eyed reading your interpretation of my blog. If I could figure out how to make an About page, I would just copy and paste it there.

    “…or just want to live in a world where people help each other…”

    Love this most of all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

