Stuff and/or People I Like

Hello dear reader(s)!

I typically don’t like posts wherein I post a bunch of links because I kind of feel like that is cheating in my desire to create.  However, I also have been consumed with the unending need for my reader(s) to understand who I am.  And in understanding who I am, sometimes one must understand what I like.  So in that vein (not the one with the valve in it, because that tends to be difficult to place the IV), I have decided to share a few things that I think are cool.  Or maybe people I think are cool.  Or maybe both.

As usual, when I post something that isn’t mine, I will offer a brief explanation about what or why I like it/said person.  After all, this is my blog-type-thing, and not just a publicity machine for people’s publicists used for publicizing their publications publicly.  Okay, so now that the not-so-formalities (you can be in your underwear reading this, I don’t care just don’t send pictures) let us get started with the sharing.

First, we have Jimmy Fallon doing The Doors singing the Reading Rainbow theme.

Do I even need to explain why this is funny?  My mom met, and was propositioned by Jim Morrison (true story).  We listened to the music of the 60’s all of the time.  I also grew up watching Reading Rainbow.  Finally, Jimmy Fallon is hilarious and talented, and once he got his own show, unencumbered by the terrible writing on SNL that he couldn’t keep a straight face through, he has really come into his own as an entertainer.

Next up, The IT Crowd.

Despite the laugh track, this show has many original jokes and the characters are excellent.  A real quality sitcom that I wish was still running.

Next up, Amy Schumer.

I picked this particular video to show the clean side of Amy Schumer’s comedy.  Make no mistake, she usually isn’t that PG.  She is always hilarious though, and I’m really bummed that her performance here has already sold out.

Next, we have Walk Off the Earth.

I’ve shared Walk Off The Earth before, but I absolutely love this band, their music, their way of playing music, and their originality.  Plus, I get to go see them play in June, so I am pretty happy about that.  I chose this particular video because it is not a cover, but one of their original songs that I think shows how far they have come as artists.  Not just a novelty, this band is a group of very talented individuals who are making music fun again.

Next, we have Rise Against.

While I am usually more of a fan of Rise Against’s more punk-rock style songs, this one always gets me.  I love the music, simple but effective.  I love the message (particularly how it isn’t bashing the military, just how they’ve been used), and I love the emotion that comes through.

Next up, College Humor

You don’t have to be in College to love College Humor.  This site is 75% funny all of the time, which is pretty difficult to do for anyone or any group of people trying to be funny.  Occasionally, the humor really rings true.  This video in particular made my wife and I laugh so hard, we thought we were going to have aneurysms.  Fortunately, we didn’t.  I think.

Next up, Buzzfeed’s Creepy Guy

Yes, I know, it’s Buzzfeed.  But come on, the Creepy Guy series is awesome.  Check out all the creepy videos on their site or YouTube because they are just too funny.

Next, Little Wing, by Jimi Hendrix

Quite possibly my favorite song, I just wish it was longer, like I wish his life and career were longer.

Next, The Jackson 5, I Want You Back

Everyone focused on Michael Jackson in the Jackson 5, but listen to the bass line.  That bass line is awesome.  If Jermaine had stuck to the bass instead of trying to duplicate his brother’s success as lead, he would probably be considered one of the greats.  Always puts me in a good mood, despite this family’s tragic story.

Now we have Metallica, One

Let me make it clear, that I used to like Metallica.  I still like some of their older songs, such as this one.  But I absolutely despise Lars Ulrich.  That, however, doesn’t take anything away from what was ground-breaking music at the time, that I still enjoy.  The book, on which this song is based, was pretty good too.

Now, we have Reel Big Fish, covering Take On Me

Something about 1990’s ska-punk (skunk) covers just make me smile.  And jump.  And then fall, because I’m not all that well still.  Oh well, fun stuff anyway.

And last, but certainly not least, there is Home, by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes.

This song will forever be Hannah and my song, and every time I hear it I think about how lucky I am to have her in my life.

Well my dear reader(s), I hope you enjoyed this sharing opportunity.  These things are all things that I love.

It is a love based of giving and receiving, as well as having and sharing.  And through this having and giving and sharing and receiving, we too can share and love and have…and receive.”  -Joey Tirbbiani

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

14 thoughts on “Stuff and/or People I Like”

Comments appreciated

