10 Reasons To Start a Blog (Or Blog-type-thing)

Hello dear reader(s)!

Have you thought about starting a blog, but have wondered whether or not blogging is right for you?  Do you read crappy blog-type-things like mine and think, “If he can do that, I know I could do 1000 times better!”  Is your coffee, heroin, crack, or nicotine addiction just not enough for you?  Do you have absolutely no life?

If you answered yes to one or more of these questions, then you may be ready to entire the exciting world of Blogging!  But is Blogging really all it is cracked up to be?

Yes!

That and so much more!  Still unconvinced?  Here are 10 Reasons you (yes you) should start a blog!

  1. You are so narcissistic, that you think people will be interested in the mundane details of your pathetic little life.  That walk you took this morning?  So interesting.  Definitely something that you should tell complete strangers about.  I mean, you actually saw a dog!  A dog!  Hollywood couldn’t come up with more entertaining stuff!  I mean, who sees a dog when taking a walk?  You’re a genius!
  2. You have a unique idea that the world will benefit from.  No, you don’t.  Your perspective may be somewhat unique, but your idea isn’t that unique and you will not make a difference.  You are not a special snowflake.
  3. You are an amazing author.  Are you?  Really?  Which publishing houses have snatched up your work?  Oh, you want to self-publish for artistic freedom?  That’s cool, how many copies have you sold?  Oh, you just aren’t a good marketer and the market is flooded?  Well, maybe, but I doubt it.  Knowing the difference between your (possessive) and you’re (you are) does not a good author make.  Or a Yoda.
  4. You have dreams of blogging for a living.  Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!  Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!  Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!   Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!  Hahahahahahahahahahaha!  Let me know how that works out for you.
  5. You want to use it as a stepping stone to a different career in writing.  Well, this one could be valid.  Highly unlikely, but possible.  Perhaps your post will be seen by someone who could take you to the next level, perhaps you can take the best ones and put together a portfolio of your work to present to someone.  Perhaps you can even use it to practice your writing so you can become a good author.  (Though amazing is likely a stretch, either you are, or you aren’t.)  So this is plausible, and Adam and Jamie likely agree.
  6. You want to use it as a social media experience.  Who can blame you for this one?  Facebook sucks.  Your Facebook friends are morons and have devolved since you last knew them.  There are maybe one or two people you even bother having your account active for, and even then, you might consider deleting if Facebook didn’t have the only copies of some pictures you uploaded,  At least other bloggers sometimes use their brains,
  7. You get very bored.  Ding ding ding ding ding!  Okay Rod, tell them what they’ve won!
  8. Unlike comments sections and Twitter, you can control the conversation on your blog.  This is a perfect reason to take up blogging.  Don’t like when people call you a libtard c_nt?  You can trash their comment and block their IP before it ever even hits your page.  Don’t like people using the n word, the b work, the l word, the f word, the a word, the d word, the z word (fuck I hate when people use zebra!), then you can just put that puppy (not literally) in the trash.
  9. You want to convert people to your system of beliefs.  Um, well, I suppose you can try, but I think you’ll just end up in a circle-jerk among people who already share your beliefs.
  10. And finally, the only real reason you should start a blog, because you HAVE to write and it is an outlet.  

So what do you think, are you ready to take the next step and start a blog of your own?  Well, chances are, if you are reading this, you are doing so from WordPress as my traffic from elsewhere is pretty low, so you probably already have.  So I guess this whole thing was a little pointless, huh?  Too bad, it is my blog-type-thing and there is nothing you can do about it, you…you…you zebra!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

32 thoughts on “10 Reasons To Start a Blog (Or Blog-type-thing)”

  1. I HAVE to write.
    I also get job offers from my blog. Two have even paid well.
    People love the mundane details of my life, Josh! I’ve already gotten 18 likes on dirty dishes and nail polish! Can you imagine if I’d posted a photo of a dog?!? zomg!
    I am too a very special snowflake!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’ve already done that, but unfortunately, the rare times I do check I have like 150 notifications and they are all crap memes and e-cards I’ve seen a million times before. Either that or women I knew long ago in bad marriages looking for someone to save them. Ugh.

        Like

  2. I so LOL’d at the reason to keep Facebook open–pictures. I deactivated an old account for a few reasons and opened a new one (oh, the drama!) so I could simplify things. But then I keep needing my old pictures and have to reactivate, grab the pic, then deactivate again. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chuckling and thinking I have been in Japan too long because I have the crazy urge to take photos of dogs in raincoats and do a blog in it and oh sh#@ I already did a blog on dogs in Japan……. woooohooo is this going to be a life epiphany? Nah probably just dogs in raincoats, take it or leave it lol. Keep the observations coming Josh. Always enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “We are just an advanced breed of monkeys on a minor planet of a very average star. But we can understand the Universe. That makes us something very special.” Stephen Hawking

    “Nature is full of genius, full of the divinity; so that not a snowflake escapes its fashioning hand.” Henry David Thoreau

    “I am not a snowflake. I am not a sweet, infantilising symbol of fragility and life. I am a strong, fierce, flawed adult woman. I plan to remain that way, in life and in death.” Stella Young

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If I have to think (which hurts my head), then you do too:

        “Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.” Albert Einstein

        I think Einstein is asking you to stare at flowers and trees. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. FaceBook blows, but alas, it is a decent promoter of my blog and BeeHooved Farms page. Twitter is also one of those jackass conduits on uselessness, but it does pull in views! The whole social media thing is a Catch 22 if you ask me. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is sooo funny!! I especially like #4 and #6. I started out blogging to share my vast experience with Four generations (baby boomers, gen x, etc) then bored myself. Redisovered my blog last year and now that I am retired I have something to do that takes up way too much time, when I could clean the bathroom. I enjoy your posts and you seriously could make $$ with yours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

