Stop Following Me!

Hello dear reader(s)!

I hate these types of posts.  Posts about blogging.  Seriously, of all the topics in the world to discuss, this one might be the least interesting and most annoying of all.

But recent events have forced me to do it.

They are, in no particular order of importance, unless subconsciously I thought of them this way because that is how they are important to me (can any Philosophy experts take a stab at that one for me?), the following:

  • I have recently written a few posts quoting the book known as “The Bible”.
  • Consequently, I was followed by a Christian bot.
  • As such, I have been followed by some rather evangelical Christians.

Okay, let me put this as plainly as I possibly can.

I am not now, nor will I ever be a Christian.  

I do respect your right to believe as you see fit, however I take great offense at anyone who wishes to make your beliefs part of public policy.  I can prove, time and time again that the majority of our founding fathers did not intend the United States to become a theocracy, and I see any attempts to point it in that direction as treasonous.

Just click the Follow button at the top of this post a second time, and you will not have to put up with my liberal, heathen blasphemy.

Now for more.

  • My support for some gun rights has led me to be followed by Republicans.

I am not now, nor will I ever be a Republican.

I do not want to belong to a party that allows Sarah Palin, Ted Cruz, Rand Paul, and Chris Christie in its ranks.  I believe that Ronald Reagan was the single worst President in modern history, and believe that all of the homelessness, shrinking of the middle class, demonizing of social services, increases in corporate welfare, and creation of terrorist groups who are actually a threat started with him.  I do not believe that Jesse Helms had any redeeming qualities, I think there are 47 traitors in Congress who violated the law by attempting to negotiate with a foreign power while side-stepping the executive branch.  I think your party is full of bigots who pine for the days before the abolition of legal (actual) slavery.  I think your party is full of hypocrites who take funding in the form of farm subsidies, corporate welfare, tax loopholes, and then cry about having to pay taxes for food stamps and health care.  I think your “party of smaller government” line is bullshit, when you try to control what consenting adults do in their bedrooms, and what women do with their bodies.

I am pro-choice.

Get it?  I know that when I wash my hands I have killed many more life forms of equal complexity to a fertilized egg that never gets to attach thanks to the morning after pill.  I also understand that we celebrate birthdays, not conception days, that the law recognizes you as human when you are born (hence the certificate of live birth) and that you can drive at 16 years of age (in most states) and not 15 years and 3 months.  I also understand that you can drink (in most states) at 21, not 20 and 3 months.  I won’t further defend my position because I know that both sides are so firmly entrenched on this issue and nothing can be said that would add to the discussion, I only bring it up because I want you all to know who you are following

I am not a Democrat.

I vote Democrat, a lot.  But I am not a Democrat and do disagree with that party on many of their ideas and tactics.  However, they are far less scary to me than the alternative.  And since Warren isn’t running, you bet your ass I’ll be voting Hillary in 2016.  Unless Robert Reich enters the race…then it will be tough to decide.  I try third-party candidates at the local level, but only if they have a chance and aren’t even more awful than the majors.

Again, to unfollow, you just click the Follow button at the top of this post one more time.  Easy.

I’m not saying that if you don’t agree with everything I have to say then I don’t want you as a reader, but what I am saying is that if you are my polar opposite, and are someone who really feels the need to be polarized, then I have no idea why you think that reading my blog-type-thing is going to be any kind of experience you will want to have.

I am not an expert in anything, so if you are using my blog-type-thing as ammunition to bolster your own beliefs or positions or stances, you may want to find a better source.

Also, occasionally, my posts are satirical or sarcastic, if those aren’t your things, and you can’t tell the difference, please, just move along.

As for me, I like the posts I read and like.  I don’t like the posts from the reader (unless the entire post shows up in the reader.)  I don’t comment all of the time because sometimes I have nothing to add, or just am not in the mood to talk, that doesn’t mean I don’t like your posts, if I don’t, I don’t hit like.

I’m not in this for followers, readers, or anyone but me.  That doesn’t mean that I haven’t met some great people through this experience.  The rest of you can push on.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

43 thoughts on “Stop Following Me!”

      1. Eek!! Something people should keep in the forefront of their noggins: it’s your blog! I saw a commercial the other day where someone said, “left-swipe them” *referring to a smart-phone and swiping them off the screen*! Oh, technology! Cher 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I like you.
    I don’t know what I’d call myself.
    But it’s getting kind of tiring explaining to people that I’m not a Democrat. They’ll look at me weird and ask, “Do you wish you were fully white?” It often comes down to that here.
    Gawd.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. In college and at my first job it was commonly discussed that blacks, Hispanics, and Asians who veered more on conservatism/libertarianism than voting Democrat had something wrong with them, like ethnic self-loathing issues. I’m surprised you haven’t been acquainted with this, although it’s more of a sign I should move.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Genuine conservatism and libertarianism aren’t my favorite political philosophies, but I must say that anyone who veers more toward Republicans are voting against their interests. But I don’t believe Republicans are either libertarian or conservative.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I’m in the same boat. I just don’t like talking about voting when others do, because I never vote straight ticket. I’m a weirdo who looks at voting histories and such. I won’t back away from saying that I’m actually ashamed of my generation. I would say there’s a lot of entitlement, and the whole “everyone gets a trophy” deal makes it hard for me to see value in much, at times. I see this with both Democrats and Republicans. I just want to see some merit. Not this “I’m awesome because I am.” Okay. I’ll hush. I’m approaching a different topic…

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I guess everyone hasn’t learned that if they don’t like the words, just scroll on past! Goodness! I’m just about one thingy at a time…always seeking more information…we can be different and still respect one another’s views…nice honest post

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not gonna unfollow! Ha! Seriously though, people really need to lighten up. If they didn’t agree with the post, then no need to take things way too seriously. I don’t agree with what most people post but I enjoy reading them because I get to know about their perspective. I learn a lot of things. Don’t they think that’s fun?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do, but apparently not some. They would rather spew their hate in groups who will pat them on the back for each word they say. If I wanted to do that, I’d go to a Klan meeting, (No, I never really would, in case it wasn’t obvious.)

      Like

  4. I just spent 2 hours going through these comments – geezzzz..
    Just kidding..But seriously, now would be a good time to re-post your “how to go viral” blog. hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s not only quoting the Bible that excites Christians… When I revealed that I believe there is no such thing as sin and that I was an atheist, I picked up many followers who, I dunno, probably want to convert me. And when they leave comments, they’re always praying for me… Please, don’t pray, just send money. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Josh:

    I have heard of trying to get more followers, but less…amazing! On the other hand, I totally understand the impetus for this post. Are these people commenting? Have there been uncomfortable confrontations in the comments section (if so, tell me where as I love to be a fly on the wall)? I respect your wish to be understood, and respected. As I share many of your views, and dislike confrontation (except as a fly on the wall), I will not comment further.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m a Christian, but the fact you aren’t doesn’t bother me, I’m neither Democrat or Republican don’t care who you follow, I believe in the sanctity of life, but it’s your choice to decide what you believe, see I value the differences in others. It helps balance things out, what is important is discourse, something that is greatly needed today. Our forefathers understood this and were willing to compromise unlike today. Polarization is what splits society apart and destroys governments and nations. I only like when I feel like it, and feel the same don’t care if someone likes or dislikes what I have to say. Those who don’t agree can have their opinion as long as they keep it to themselves, it’s called agreeing to disagree and remain civil. It’s called respect – if I find someone not respecting this I block them, period. Otherwise I don’t take offense when someone disagrees. Enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

