Photo Booths – Exciting and Awesome? Or Rip-Offs?

Hello dear reader(s)!

Today was an amazing, exciting, awesome, day!  Do you know why?  I did my taxes.

Okay, I did do my taxes but there was nothing exciting about that.

But after the doing of the taxes my wife and I were hungry.  So we went out for some pub food.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking there is nothing exciting about going to get pub food.  Either that or you’re thinking I should not have used the “Humor” tag in this post.  Well, you’re right about the second part, but on the first part, I will have to disagree with you, sir/madam.  Going out for pub food is very exciting when you can only afford to go to a pub once a month or so, and happened to go during a great happy hour, so you spent less money than expected.  So that was exciting.

But do you know what was really exciting?

The Photo Booth!

Now, once again, I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking that there is nothing exciting about photo booths and that you probably shouldn’t have bothered reading this post.  Well, you’re right about the second part, but on the first part, I will have to disagree with you, sir/madam.

You see, my wife, loves photo booths.  Despite the fact that since we have been together, we have had cell phones that take better quality pictures that won’t set you back $5 a session, she thinks they’re fun.  So when we were dating and passed a photo booth, I allowed her to drag me in and pony (but I didn’t want a pony, I wanted a Clydesdale!) up the 5-er because they made her happy.  And in doing so, of course, it made me happy.  Not only that, but her goofy poses always made me laugh and so I came to the belief that photo booths, were in fact…fun.  But not exciting, and not awesome.

Yet.

It was sometime in March, 2011, if I recall.  We were at a local Irish pub that we frequented, (because Irish pubs are awesome), and we had been dating for some time, and living together almost as long.  I had decided that I was going to ask her to marry me at some point in the future, and I had bought the ring earlier that day.  I was going to plan something big and romantic.  I had absolutely no intentions of asking her anytime soon.  There were two good reasons for me wanting to wait.

  1. I wanted to plan something big, at someplace nice, dressed up, and romantic as fuck.  (Romantic as fuck is the most romantic.)
  2. I was nervous as fuck.

But as I have learned, life doesn’t give a fuck about my plans.

After a few shots of Jameson, a few pints of Guinness, some shepherd’s pie for me and “Irish Nachos” for her, Hannah saw that our beloved pub had installed a photo booth in the corner.  So of course, she begged me to go in there for some photos with her.

I didn’t have the cash.  I didn’t hate going into photo booths by this point in our relationship, I just didn’t have the cash.  All my money was locked up in my account on my debit card.

She dug through her purse.

As she was digging, I asked her why she always wanted to do the photo booth thing.

“Because I love taking pictures with you,” she replied.

And I thought back.  It was walking outside right near this pub in October of 2009, when Hannah first looked at me and said with surprise, “I love you.”  Then freaked out a bit at the fact that she said it, until I told her that I loved her too.

So when she found the $5, in her purse and pleaded to take pictures in the photo booth with her, I decided to go for it.  I of course, feigned reluctance; but inside, I was as excited as something that gets really excited.

If you look, you can see the confusion and then the realization and the yes.
If you look, you can see the confusion and then the realization and the yes.

That’s right, the same day that I bought the ring, I proposed to her in a photo booth inside of an Irish pub, and she still said yes.

So today, for the first time in years, my wife and I returned to that pub, which is almost exactly the same, including the same photo booth.  They have hung up a couple of signs and green streamers on the back wall, but it is the same booth.

And I had no cash.

And my wife dug through her purse and found $5.

Same booth.  In color this time, and happier than ever.
Same booth. In color this time, and happier than ever.

So, my conclusion, based on years of research, is that photo booths are not a rip-off, and are quite exciting and awesome.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

45 thoughts on “Photo Booths – Exciting and Awesome? Or Rip-Offs?”

  1. Reblogged this on Norm 2.0 and commented:
    I don’t do a lot of reblogging but I found this heartwarming little love story too good not to share.
    Please head on over and read this one. As long as you have at least one romantic bone in your body, I promise you won’t regret it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I noted you are a cancer survivor. So is my Grandson. Good for you. Enjoy the photo booth even more. The pictures are a document stating that you are alive and well. The money is well spent.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

