Plumbing Problems

Hello dear reader(s)!

Yesterday, or actually, the night before last; my wife came out of the loo and told me that the toilet was still running from when I went in a couple of hours before.

Great!  It was 10 pm and I wasn’t about to try to fix it.  I looked in the back of the tank to see that the flapper was sealed and it was.  I looked for leaks and didn’t see any.  The water was just trickling in at such a slow rate that it was taking forever to fill up. I reached down to the handle to make sure the water supply was turned up and it was.  Not wanting to start a project at 10 pm, and also being advised to stay away from places where water collects (such as the bottom of the upper-tank on a toilet), I decided just to grab a jug and fill it with water from the bathtub, to dump in the back of the tank until the morning.  The water stopped, and the toilet was flushable.  So I flushed it, filled it again, and went to bed.

In the morning I decided to take a closer look.  I inspected the parts, and knew that it must be something internal in the valve.  The set up was not the same as the last time I had to repair a toilet.  In place of about 4 different pieces, was just an all-in-one valve/float assembly.  It looked like this.

credit:  Fluidmaster
credit: Fluidmaster

One valve, with the float and hose into the overfill drain attached, instead of the multitude of parts that it replaced,  No longer, did the back of the toilet look like this,

credit:  The Home Depot
credit: The Home Depot

I bought a replacement all-in-one at the hardware store and had my dad come fix it for safety reasons.

Now, why do you think they changed the set up?

Some say it is cheaper, and the price is a little less for the all-in-one assembly, but I don’t think that’s it.  Some say it is easier to repair, and I could see that reasoning.

But do you know why I think it has been changed?

Because people working at hardware stores couldn’t keep a straight face when saying “Ball Cock”.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

7 thoughts on “Plumbing Problems”

  1. Hah! What a handyman! I remember I had a chain that broke at this old country home I stayed in when I was traveling allot for work. The chain kept breaking and I didn’t have the time to fix it, so literally to flush my toilet myself and guests would have to physically life the lid and pull the chain…though eventually we just left the lid off and taped the chain to the top so no one had to dig around in the water.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Huh..I broke-up with a plumber cause I thought he was being rude. .Interesting..
    ps. I’m just kidding, but man…that’d be a funny story.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

