Feeling Accomplished

Hello dear reader(s)!

You may (or likely may not) have noticed that I have been a little absent from the world of WordPress and social media and all of the those webby tubes for the past few days.  This was not because I was out in the real world or being productive, it was because I was extremely fatigued and in a lot of pain.  Until today.

Today I woke up at the rather late (for me) hour of 9 am.  I jumped into the shower (actually, I stepped in, I’ve fallen too many times in the shower before) and did the washy-washy.  The water pressure was nice and blasted away my sleep.  After cleaning, I hopped out of the shower (no, carefully stepped) and was feeling great!  I went to the front window and stared out at the beautiful morning.  I then decided I better put on some clothes after noticing the funny looks I was getting from the neighbors.

We took delivery of a cat tree given to us by some very good friends.  That wasn’t much work, but it made the kitties happy so it counts.

I did some chair-dips and arm curls with the weights that I finally dug out of the garage.  I always have to take advantage of the fleeting energy when it does show up.  Before it joins a fleet somewhere far away.

I am out of almost everything, so my lovely wife and I decided we should go to the grocery store.  On a Saturday.  Before Easter.  During the day.  With my anxiety, and being neutropenic the other day.  Oh yeah, great thinking on my part.

We had a list made from the night before (when we were going to go, but crapped out) and had our attack plan ready.  We synchronized the clocks on our phones (unnecessary as we have the same carrier, so they are already synchronized) and hopped (no, stepped) into the Beastess.

Once at the store de la grocery, we drove through the errant carts and oblivious shoppers and other drivers and found a spot away from the store like I prefer.  We walked toward the entrance, dodging more oblivious drivers and entered the large, [bag your own damn groceries to save money] store.  We made our way throughout the store and stuck to our plan fairly well.  We managed to get each item off of the list with the ease of an Easy Bake Oven.  Everything was going according to plan until it came to locating the mix for the Spinach Dip that my wife intends to make and bring for Easter on the morrow.  We had our green onions, our water chestnuts, our spinach, our mayo, all we needed was this mix.

It was hiding from us.

We scoured every single aisle, including the ones jam-packed with the unwashed masses that cause me to have a panic attack when they are too near.  And too near they were.  Apparently, personal space is not real in the aisle of a grocery store.  And right smack in the middle of one of these aisles, what do we find?  All of the spice packets.  Tossed about like a salad at a place that actually tosses salads, (as opposed to just dumping the ingredients in and stirring).  So we look, and we look, and we look some more.  And I can feel the people around me closing in.  I take a step backwards and am met with a rude, “Excuse me!”

I spin around and see someone trying to push their cart passed just as I stepped into their way.

“Sorry,” I reply sheepishly.

(No response, just a dirty look.)

“Well fuck you too, ” I say, barely audible.

No spinach dip mix.  Which is actually vegetable dip mix, but that is neither here nor there.  So we are all ready to check out, and finally, my wife once again decides to brave the center aisles.  We are not leaving without it.  I decide, for the safety of myself and all those around me to wait for her by the salad-dressing end-cap, dodging the people who think there must be something more important behind me than salad dressing, or else I wouldn’t be guarding it.

Just as I give up and start to make my way toward her using one of the emptier aisles (must have been healthy stuff), I see her hold something up from across a sea of people at the end of one of the aisles.  I can’t make it out with my eyes, but my heart tells me she has indeed found the elusive dip mix.  She goes down the somewhat empty aisle toward me, and sure enough the mix is in her hand.  We embrace in the middle of the aisle, and then do an Eiffel Tower High-Five.  She told me it was behind an empty box of another mix where we had previously looked, but she wasn’t going to give up and moved it and grabbed the right mix stocked behind.

We payed for our groceries and grabbed some food.  We got home (which is in itself an accomplishment, the way people are driving today) and ate our food, and put away the groceries.  Feeling accomplished for making it through the grocery store, I could have rested on my laurels and considered that enough for this day.  But I wouldn’t rest on Laurel, she’s strange, and it would be uncomfortable, besides, I’m happily married.  So I got up, went out into the garage and cleaned some stuff off to be brought into the house and put away.  Then I hung up my Guiness clock in the kitchen.  After that I found a picture frame hanger thingy (actual product name) and tapped it into the back of the frame my lovely wife made for our wedding picture.  I then hung that up.  Finally, I cleaned off the second of the two nightstands that were out in the garage and brought it in, putting it by its new home in the room.

Tonight we will need to go pick up more damn cat food, because apparently, you are supposed to feed them or something stupid like that.  We will also dye Easter eggs (DIE, Easter Eggs!!!!) with a friend of ours.

And that’s it.  That is all I’m going to do.  Is there more to be done?  Yes.  But I am already feeling accomplished.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

31 thoughts on “Feeling Accomplished”

  1. I was laughing out loud about your encounter with the rude woman. The grocery store is where dreams go to die. I’m glad you found your mix and made it out of the store without any harm to yourself or others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I made the mistake of visiting Walmart yesterday. Big mistake. Where did all these people come from? And why don’t they get out of the way when they see me coming?

    And I’m wondering, can you bottle that energy stuff and send me some? Happy holidays. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good to hear that you have some of your energy back today! Your store adventure sounds kind of like the day I had. Lets just say, this is the last time I ever attempt to take my kids to a free Easter egg hunt. Except for church, I’m hiding at home the rest of the weekend as much as I can help it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I did back into her way without looking. Even if I had my reasons) not being surrounded by the packet-lookers), I still could have checked the path. But yes, after the non-acceptance of my apology, I felt the thought was warranted.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 1st of all… the picture of and your wife is adorable. 2nd of all… That is precisely why I canNOT go to the grocery store on the weekend. Oh, the horror. I went this Saturday just like you did, and immediately hated my life. What was I thinking?! Worst. Experience. EVER.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

