What I Read on WP and Why, part 1

‘Ello dear reader(s)!

I follow a hell of a lot of blogs.  Way too many to list all of them, especially in one post, but likely at all.  Some don’t post very often, so I’ll likely leave those ones off the list.  Some I have already recommended in my posts recently, so I’ll spare you the duplication.  Some I know that anyone reading this is likely already following that blog, so why pimp them out to their own readers?  Some are so recent, I don’t have a great feel for yet, as I usually check out a couple posts and then wait for more in my Reader.  Basically, what I am trying to say in so many words; is that if you aren’t mentioned, please do not feel unappreciated or disappointed, as the orchestra music is playing and they are trying to force me off of the stage.

As you may have inferred by the title of this here post-type-thing, I’m not just going to list the blogs I read, but I’m going to give you my brief thoughts on why.  This means there will likely be many parts of this series, but I’m not going to hit you all at once with them because I like to write what I’m thinking about other things a lot, and I want to keep you strung along in anticipation.  Since this series, at say one post a week, will take years, I have you under my control.  Muahahahahaha!

So without further adieu, here is what I read and why.  Chapter 1.  Verse 16.

Shopgirl Anonymous.  It takes a lot of skill to make a primarily niche blog relatable, and she does it well.  You do not have to have worked in retail in order to completely identify with her posts.  If you’ve ever held a job, or been a customer…you can relate to her entertaining, thoughtful, and occasionally hilarious posts.

Edwina’s Episodes.  Her posts are episodes.  It is like a mini-sitcom, or occasional drama television show, in blog form.  Great sense of humor, great storytelling, and always engaging with her readers.  Just fun.

Only Bad Chi.  Always humorous, Alex would be right at home writing for Buzzfeed or one of the other major humor blogs…only her stuff is usually better.

I Refuse To Follow Your Blog.  Funny, sometimes ranty (ranty?…well it’s a word now, because I said so) posts that teach you to laugh at the pathetic situations you will inevitably encounter in life.

Speedy the Cheeky Rex Rabbit.  Posts, pictures and videos from the rabbit.  What more do you need?  If you are having a bad day, find this blog and it will likely end pretty quickly.  Not the blog, but your bad day.  Not because it will be night, but because the bad will likely go away.  Unless it is really bad and nothing can help, but you get what I’m trying to say.  The only issue I have with it is that the main blog exists over on Blogger, and so commenting isn’t the near instant process it is here, but you can still comment on the WP entrance, so that pretty much makes up for that.  It really isn’t an issue at all, I just want to seem like a real reviewer, instead of a fan.

thewallgalleryblog.  Kirt Tisdale’s blog featuring amazing photographs, amazing paintings, and great posts about them.  Some of his paintings are so realistic, you think you are looking at one of his great photographs at first.  He also has more contemporary art that is striking.  A visual master.

T Ibara Photo.  Takami Ibara is one of the most talented photographers that I have come across.  She can capture light as clear as your most vivid dream.  Her short titles in both Japanese and English perfectly set the tone for the pictures you view. Plus her subjects are often of wildlife and so that is a bonus.

Art by Rob Goldstein.  Don’t let the blog’s title fool you, this is not simply an art blog.  Although the art is stunning.  Rob also posts about Dissociative Identity Disorder, and the battle all people living with mental illness suffer due to the stigma and policies our society attaches.  Honest, sometimes dark, sometimes not, always inspiring.

Baffled Baboon.  This one is always fun.  Funny, interesting, and my favorite aspect…really weird sometimes.  Not much else I can say about it, you’ll just have to check it out for yourself.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

My Blog News and Blues Reviews.  Want to learn about things that aren’t easily available in main-stream-media with thoughtful commentary?  This is the blog for you.  History, Science, News…you name it, there is a great post about it here.

Okay my dear reader(s), this concludes the first installment of What I Read and Why, part Uno.  Please know, these are in no particular order.  If you don’t see your blog on here, just wait, it likely will be.  Maybe, because it will be such a long running series, I will even mention the blogs that I said I wasn’t going to way back in the first paragraph, before all these fancy new-fangled links.  So stick around, keep reading my posts.  Keep reading.  Comment.  Keep reading.  When I snap my fingers, you will realize I’ve tried to hypnotize you into reading my blog-type-thing before.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

29 thoughts on “What I Read on WP and Why, part 1”

  1. Sometimes I read things that get me so excited that I have to stand up, pace the room, sit back down, read it again, let out the manliest squealing sounds in the world and leave again. This is one of those things. It’s so awesome to be mentioned by someone you hold in such high regard. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I concur with your synopsis of Speedy the Rex Rabbit. As a lover of lagomorphs myself (I have 2 bunnies), I always enjoy seeing new posts on that blog. Will be checking out the others shortly! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Josh,
    Thanks so much for mentioning my humble site on your post! I’m flattered 🙂
    I’m also looking forward to look at the other sites you’ve mentioned, they must be good 😉
    Again, thanks for sharing some of your favourite links. Wishing you and yours a happy weekend, and hope you’re settling into your new home 🙂
    Best wishes,
    Takami

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OH MY GOD I AM SO SORRY I LITERALLY JUST SAW THIS I DON’T KNOW HOW I MISSED IT PLEASE FORGIVE ME–thank you so so so much for the incredibly kind words, I’m so flattered and honored!! Needless to say I’m in love with your blog (I feel like that sounds creepy–I mean it in a non-creepy way, but I don’t understand how to interact socially so I don’t know how to say normal-sounding things). Thank you again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

