Writer’s Block?

Well it is a damn good thing I’m not a writer then!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Do you suffer from writer’s block?  Have you ever stared at a blank screen, just wondering what you are going to post about that day?

Well stop!

Do you know who is going to care if one of the posts that you put out there doesn’t hit the mark?  You.  How do I know this?  Because, for some odd reason, I have dear reader(s) after all of this garbage I put out there.  And yet, people are very forgiving of it and tend to stick around just in case I get lucky one day.  (I haven’t.)

I know, I know, many of you are authors and don’t want to ruin your reputation.  I promise you, however, that even the best authors of the greatest classics put out some pretty lousy stuff in their careers.  We can forgive.  Your talent is awesome.  It is not like you don’t have thoughts all of the time.  Write them down.

Right now (write now!), I’m regretting putting the “humor” tag on this post because I have yet to write something funny.  It was my intention, but then I got going.  I will have to delete it before publishing.  That is called editing.  As an author, I’m sure you do that.  Probably too much.  We are our own greatest critic, after all.

The great thing about your talent (not mine, because I have none for writing) is that you know how to use language to make the ordinary seem extraordinary.  There are artists who can do that with poems and pictures and paintings.  I know, because I follow them.  (And I’m not at all jealous…nooooo.)  It isn’t that you don’t have anything to write about, is it?  It is that you are worried whatever you do write will be crap.

But do you know what is crap?

A blank screen.

The beautiful thing about having no fucks to give is that any old thought I have, I put out there.  Occasionally, the thought itself may resonate with someone, and I love that.  More often than not, it doesn’t.  But that is because I am not a writer.  I hope to be at some point, but I don’t consider myself talented enough for it now.

You ain’t special.  (<—Read this blog, especially if you are feeling a little self-absorbed.)  You will fail at something sometimes.  What are you afraid of?  You don’t run out of thoughts, how can you run out of things to write about?  You don’t have writer’s block, you have a fear of rejection.

I don’t see myself ever running out of material.  I could write an entire post about how the tires on my Jeep (the Beastess) are wearing unevenly despite the alignment being locked in.  I won’t, but I could.  (FYI, my dad thinks that it is because it is full-time 4WD and I drive it like a rear-wheel drive car which means accelerating through the apex of a turn.  In doing so, I’m putting power to the wheels while they are turned and possibly chewing them up, so I need to adjust my driving habits.)

Do you see how easy that is?  Was it any good?  Does it matter?  It is only our egos at stake.

Yesterday, I know I pissed some people off because I posted about how I didn’t like their blogs and thought they were hateful.  I was fortunate enough to have read their posts in response (because the people I follow re-posted them) wherein they defend themselves against my interpretation of their writing.  And their followers agree with them.  And I couldn’t be more pleased with that.  It doesn’t change my opinion of them, but it does go to show that not everyone will like what we do…but many people will.  I am not their superior.

It isn’t like I’m immune from it.  I’m not superior to anyone.  I still fall prey to the thoughts that nobody will like me from time to time.  But then I just remember not to give a fuck…and the words pour out.

Maybe I’m wrong.  Maybe you honestly don’t have any thoughts.  But come on…how likely is that?  Have you read Nutsrock?  You need to.  She can take stories….seemingly simple stories, and paint brilliant, funny pictures with her words.  Things that have happened to her and her family sometimes.  Has she led a particularly exciting and funny life?  Maybe so, but her stories are much more in finding the humor and thoughtful moments in the everyday,  I’m not saying that we can all be that good, but her writing is an example of what talented people can do with the seemingly ordinary.  Single Family Asylum can make everyday family life into side-splitting stories.  There are so many more of you, but linking is a pain in the ass.

It is our perspectives that make us unique.  Not out ideas, accomplishments, or talents.  The combination of these things might be a part of it, but we are no Neil Peart, no Bach, no da Vinci, no Michelangelo, no Monet, no Hemingway.  And they weren’t the artists and musicians unnamed that produced beautiful masterpieces before and since.  And you don’t think they put out some crap?  Do your research, not everything from the geniuses was a work of genius.

Everyone is really excited for the “new” book from Harper Lee.  You do know the book isn’t new, right?  I’m not saying it won’t be good, but the idea was pitched first, and the publishers or editors said something along the lines of, “I want to read the story that got them to this point.”  And that is how To Kill A Mockingbird, one of the greatest books written, came to be.  Is it going to be as good?  Would you think less of Harper Lee if it isn’t?  You better not, you fickle bastard.

So write on.  (Right on!)

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

13 thoughts on “Writer’s Block?”

  1. I think we are our own worst critics, you included! I know sometimes after I have published something I worry that people might not get my ‘humour’ or they will take me seriously when I am being sarcastic. I worry that maybe I post too much now…I am just a worrier full stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I follow blogs that post twelve times as much as you. As long as I can still get through, it doesn’t bother me any. One of these days when I feel more like taking the time to link, I am going to do a recommended blogs post and would love to include yours, if you don’t mind. My recommendation may be a bad thing, though, so keep that in mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome. Except, now I actually have to take the time to do it. I hate tracking everyone down and linking. 🙂 Oh well, I’m thinking if I decide to do a 3rd post this evening (for me) or maybe tomorrow as I too, am worried I’m posting too much.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ha Ha! It does take time to track and link everything. As you know i do my Friday Free For all where I link to some posts I have enjoyed during the week, If you want, no pressure or anything, but would you like to link up to do a joint event for something like that? After all, I was inspired to do it partly because of your idea to post links in your comments of blogs people enjoyed (in one of your previous posts)

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

