End of an Era

I'll be back!
I’ll be back!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Onward and upward.  Well, I guess downward, on a map, as in South, but not THE South because my hometown has enough rednecks, thank you very much!  As of this Sunday I will no longer be living in the great city of Seattle.  Which is good, but also kind of bittersweet.  I lived in Seattle and loved it from 2003 to 2009.  When I moved back to my hometown in 2009, I regretted it very quickly, except for meeting my wife and all the fun we were having.  We were planning on moving back at some point.  When I got cancer, it seemed we would have to put that off, until I needed a bone marrow or blood stem cell transplant (ended up being blood stem cells, but I didn’t know which it would be at the time).  At that point, because I have family in Seattle, and the Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center (who basically pioneered bone marrow transplants) and the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance (Fred Hutch, UW, and the SCCA Clinic) were there, so it was only natural that I moved up there.

But Seattle has changed.  There is a boring machine stuck under the ground that may or may not be causing Pioneer Square to sink.  The homeless population must either really like the city or are getting far less help than they were because I swear the amount of people living on the street has tripled.  It just makes my heart hurt, and there is no sanitary services for them, so oftentimes you literally have to step over piles of human feces when walking under an overpass or by a bus stop.  Not good for someone with a suppressed immune system.  (Dear politicians, these people need help, by providing for their welfare, you provide for all of our welfare which is kind of your duty under the Constitution you pretend to hold near and dear.  (Except those pesky 4th and 14th Amendments, right?))

And don’t even get me started on the construction.  Every single time I go anywhere near downtown I find another new crane on the skyline.  And yet all of the tearing down of the houses that made Seattle unique in place of cheaply built carbon-copy condominiums is doing nothing to bring down the seriously increasing rent.  All the local business are losing their leases and the new buildings have condos over retail space, all leased out to mega-chains.  Then, some police officer (aka publicly subsidized traffic director for construction equipment) will stop traffic so that a fucking cement truck can take 45 fucking minutes trying to back in and out of a site.  The traffic has gotten so awful, that all of the places I love that are still here are a good hour drive to get to, unless during a 3 hour mid-weekday period.

Sounds like I hate Seattle, right?  Wrong.  I love it, still.  I don’t like this boom, I don’t like the chains, but it is still one of the most interesting cities around.  The weather is still amazing, (although this year has been too damned dry, thank you Boston), the water is beautiful, there is so much plant life that the Emerald City nickname really fits.

But the Rent is too damn high!  Being disabled, there is no way I could live with my wife in our own place.  Hell, I can barely afford to buy our food and toiletries.  I also miss my friends, and my Jeep, and my dad, and the word “and”.

And the worst part?  I now associate Seattle with almost dying so many times.  Yes, I almost died once in my hometown, and we thought I was gone for sure when it was taking so long to get a donor and the aspergillus pneumonia was tearing up my lungs, but that is nothing compared to how many times, and how close I came to dying up here.  I also spent more time dealing with it up here, so that association just remains.

So back to the hometown.  I have to get back into the way of things there, so if you start to notice posts with “hella” “y’all” “cholo” “vato” “tight” “Bra”, or any of a number odd sounding things that I would normally not say, then know I am just preparing to talk to people there.  There are also a number of racist, homophobic redneck terms I should learn if I want to fit in there, but I’d rather not, thank you very much.  I give that town a hard time, but it isn’t all bad and there are some good people living there the last time I checked.  Oh yeah, my friends live their too, AND some good people living there, so that’s a bonus.

As a result, we are in a frenzied pack-fest of all the things we are still trying to figure out if we’ll use or not in the next couple days.  As a result of that result, it will result in me being a tiny bit absent from the Land of WordPress, where the magical bloggers grant wishes in the form of writing to the joyful children from all over the world with unrestricted internet access.

I might try and queue up a butt-load of crap (Ew, that just sounds gross) and try to figure out how to schedule them to post so that you can still fuel your addiction to my witty, enlightening post-type-things.  However, I likely will miss comments for a while, so you’ll have to bear with me.  I prefer that you panda bear with me, because they seem the least likely to maul.

So wish us luck in our new old home, and the beginning of a new chapter in our lives.  I think it will be chapter 487, but I haven’t outlined my life’s history yet for my 5th bestselling book which will be my autobiography.  Yes, that many chapters, but you know you want to read it.  Give in to your need to read my stuff.  Do not fight it.  You must have my drivel in your life.  You are getting sleepy.  When I snap my fingers, you will wake up and pre-order all of my books in the hopes I will write them at some point.  Good.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

18 thoughts on “End of an Era”

Comments appreciated

