An Ode to the Wimminz

Hello dear reader(s)!

When I woke up this morning, the only thing I thought about today was, “It’s too damn early!”  But after perusing many of your posts I became acutely aware that today, (in addition to being a day I am tired as hell) is International Women’s Day!  Do you know why I didn’t have this day marked on a calendar?  I didn’t know it was International Women’s Day, because I am not a woman, and therefore am not totally aware of days set aside to acknowledge the fact that women are awesome and deserve the same rights as us men.  Now, it isn’t that I don’t think women are amazing and deserve to be treated equally, and get out from under the boot of the patriarchal oligarchy we all live in; I just wasn’t aware there was a day to bring attention to it.  So I guess you could say I’m some sort of ignorant feminist.  Actually, I think I am a humanist, but tomato, tomato.  (That doesn’t really work in print, does it?)

I LOVE women.  All women.  (No, I’m not talking sexually or romantically although I do consider myself to be heterosexual).  I mean I love women as people.  Yes, guys, that’s right.  Women are people.  I know, try to take it in.  Perhaps it was being raised by my mother and my older sister when my mother was at work, but I have always seen women as strong, capable human beings who are in no way the weaker sex.  (Ignoring average physiological differences in upper body strength, etc…)

Growing up, the majority of my friends were women (or girls, depending on what age I was).  I consider myself to be pretty masculine, I like cars, sports, a good beer, etc; but I like being able to talk about real things, personal things, and I find that women (generally) are more willing to talk about those things and listen.  Macho bullshit and bro culture has always been something I detest.  I don’t like cigars (doesn’t anyone else notice how phallic those look?), I don’t like date-rape, or any kind of rape, I never wanted to be in a frat, and I get offended when a guy cat-calls some woman around me.  It isn’t that I don’t notice attractive women, I just like to think that my brain holds more power over my testicles.

Despite my friendship with women, I am not a womanizer.  I am happily monogamous with my wife (despite my running “slave in the basement” joke, (we don’t even have a basement, let alone a slave in there.))  Now, if you think I am going to use this day and this post to preach monogamy to you, you are mistaken.  Whatever works for you, as long as you are honest with all involved, is none of my damn business.  For me, my wife fulfills all of my needs.  I love having friends who are not my wife, but none of them will ever be as good of a friend as my wife is.  And I won’t fuck them either.  However, some people require more, and that is up to them.

You see, I don’t believe in the word “slut”.  Furthermore, I don’t care for the word “prude”.  Unless that is something one chooses to label themselves for whatever reason, I really wish we could stop judging.  Just because a woman likes sex, and maybe a lot, and maybe with a lot of people, doesn’t make her any less of a human than anyone else.  Conversely, if a woman is not interested in sex, or not interested in sex with you, as the case may be, doesn’t make her any less either.  Women, like men, are free to do what they want, so long as they are not hurting anyone else who doesn’t or can’t consent.  Say that again misogynists:  Women, like men, are free to do what they want, so long as they are not hurting anyone else who doesn’t or can’t consent.  And to be clear, by hurting, I don’t mean your bullshit pride, your ego, or your precious feelings.

I love women.  I love strong women.  I love women who are strong enough to be weak sometimes, and strong enough to be strong sometimes.  One reason I particularly love my wife, is that she does not bow to my every request, but she doesn’t boss me around and try to dominate me either.  (Or she is capable of both when we play, but that really isn’t a topic I care to go into detail about.)  If you are a woman, and find strength in submission, good for you.  If you are a woman, and find strength in being dominant, good for you.  If you are a woman, and have the range to be both when the situation calls for it (& no, I’m not specifically talking sexually, although that is included), GOOD FOR YOU!  

I love women.  Straight women.  Gay women.  Bisexual women.  Trans women.  If you consider yourself to be a woman, I love you.  If you are who you are, I love you.  Fat, skinny, short, tall, it doesn’t matter.  I love you.  Quit being so hard on yourselves, and each other, because you are loved, and you are worthwhile.

And men, if you love women, I mean really love women, regardless of your attraction to them or lack thereof, then I love you too.  I love good people.  It is that simple.  One day, I would hope we can celebrate International People’s Day, so that we can get past these stupid categories we like to put ourselves into, and share this world like we should.

Comments on this post are welcome, however, if you disagree and want to comment your hate, I will delete that shit and block you right into the space where you have been blocked or something like that.

Sweetness, I love you most, and in so many ways.  Happy International Women’s Day!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

14 thoughts on “An Ode to the Wimminz”

  1. Thank you for this very nice post 🙂
    Not surprising, Japan doesn’t officially celebrate International Women’s Day, so I was completely oblivious of it, until my Russian friend told me about it a few years ago. It seems more well-known in post-Soviet countries…?
    Best wishes,
    Takami

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

