History Repeats

We could try counseling

Or a trial separation

All we need

Is a little vacation

The hurt that you caused

You say you don’t mean

And I keep believing

Though I’ve never seen

You say that you love me

Though you haven’t shown

A sign of affection

But I should have known

So I pack my things

I’m ready to leave

Until you say you love me

And I still believe

If things were right here

Why should I feel wrong

My friends say to leave you

Tell me to be strong

But how can I just

Decide I will quit

On whatever we had

Before all this shit

And so I relent

And let you back in

And later you hurt me

Again and again

But I cannot leave you

As my heart still beats

Because I’ll never learn

History repeats

© Joshua Wrenn 2015

(Hannah, this is not about me and you.  🙂  )

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

11 thoughts on “History Repeats”

Comments appreciated

