We Were Friends

Forgive me for taking so long

I have no idea what I’ve done wrong

I know we both have our lives to lead

But I’ve always been there whenever you need

When you felt trapped in the life that you made

And told me you wonder the reason you stayed

Even in the middle of the night

I’d do all I could to make it alright

So I guess things are fine and I’ve dropped off your list

And it’s becoming quite clear I’m not even missed

My attempts to reach out receive no reply

I check my phone often just wondering why

Was it something I said, or something I did

I know that you just haven’t dropped off the grid

And while I’m upset that we’ve met an end

You could have just said I wasn’t your friend

But eventually I’d finally learn

When you left me with nowhere to turn

So it took me this long, but I have decided

I don’t want a friendship that is so one-sided

So I sincerely hope that your life treats you fair

‘Cause if you turn to me, I will not be there

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

4 thoughts on “We Were Friends”

Comments appreciated

