Sacred Cows

I just couldn’t wait until tomorrow for this one.  I am somewhat shocked and amazed at how easily people jump on the bandwagon of critical posts I write…until I may be criticizing something that they have done.  For the record, I criticize myself too, in case you all haven’t noticed.  I don’t hate myself, and I don’t hate any of you.  Unless you abuse, attempted or succeeded in selling/trading your children, tortured, etc…  Also, I do not believe a standard spanking is abuse, so let’s just all take a deep breath over that potential shit-storm, shall we?  Your views on parenting might be no physical punishment whatsoever, and if that works and keeps your children from being monsters, then I certainly do not take issue with that either.

Do you want to write a post on your blog about bad blogging and include the things that I do?  Will that make you feel better?  Should I explain that growing up in a poor, single-parent household, where I did not receive adequate education in the “at-risk” public schools that I attended, and that my mental health issues result in my lack of great blogging ability?  No?  No.  Because that would be a cop-out.  I will not use my circumstances as an excuse to ditch the responsibility I have for my bad behavior.

The only valid censorship of ideas is the right of people not to listen.” – Tommy Smothers

If you continue to read my blog-type-thing, you will be offended by me at some point.  I don’t go out of my way to offend, but I will certainly not pull back from an opinion simply because I might.  I offend Democrats with my views on responsible gun ownership.  I offend Republicans with my views on their failure to stand up to the racist wing of their party.  I offend both parties with my views that both parties are corporate subsidiaries.  I offend police officers when I say that there really are shitty cops out there.  I offend activists when I say that there really are good, well-meaning cops out there.  I’m not eager to be a part of anyone’s club.  I have my views, I have my reasons for my views, and I don’t expect everyone to agree with them.  I piss off the religious for not following their beliefs.  I piss off atheists for my belief that there is always going to be more to things than we can understand, and that which we won’t be able to understand, could be referred to as some sort of God.  I piss off the anti-drug crowd for my beliefs that the drug war and prohibition has been a colossal failure, and I piss off the drug crowd for my belief that not all drugs are good, and none should be used with your children.

If you speak your mind, you can’t please all the people ANY of the time.

So I allow your comments that disagree with me.  I encourage the discussion.  That is the whole point.  I see issues, let’s discuss.  Don’t agree with me?  Fine.  I don’t hate you.  But if you’re offended, maybe you should ask yourself why that is.  If you’re offended enough to think I am a bad person, then why are you reading?

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

6 thoughts on “Sacred Cows”

Comments appreciated

