Where Words Leave Off

“Where words leave off, music begins.”

-Heinrich Heine

I’ve lost a lot of things because of cancer.  My energy, some organ functionality, a working immune system, a reliable GI system…but one of the losses that pains me most is the loss of hearing in my left ear.

One of my favorite ways to wind-up, wind-down, or just feel anything, was to put on (or in, as the case may be), headphones & listen to music.  I loved to hear all the subtle nuisances in a song, the panning of the instruments, the feeling of being there as the musicians recorded, the things you miss standing away from speakers.  A Day In The Life by The Beatles will never be the same.  That hurts.

But I still love music.  I still need music.  If it’s good, I don’t really care what style it is.  I’m not trying to brag about how varied my musical taste is.  I’m not going to write some pretentious piece about the music you’ve never heard and I have because I’m just that hip, before being a hipster was cool.  No, I’m going to give you an example of a song that has helped me get through, or get excited, or feel something.  You may have heard it, you may not have.  The genres vary.

These may not be deep, but some are.  They may not be groundbreaking, but some are.  So open your ear(s) and mind, & check them out.

Note to the RIAA, ASCAP, BMI, & any other performing rights/copyright enforcement organizations:  This blog-type-thing is not monetized.  Any links included herein are from YouTube, & are most likely available from the artists themselves.  I do not own the copyright to any music linked to, & make no money by linking to it.  Furthermore, even if someone does read this, & clicks the links, it only serves to provide publicity and exposure to the artists.  However, I DO own the copyright to all of the commentary and opinions offered herein, & if you use it for YOUR monetary gain…I’ll sue the ever-loving shit out of you.

Walk Off The Earth Revo In Paris

This is an original song by a Canadian band of immensely talented individuals who play music a little differently.  While their songwriting may not be the deepest or most thought provoking (yet), it is fun & there can be no doubt about their talent.  If you haven’t seen it yet, check out their cover of Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know.  

Next up is Rise Against.  I love almost every song they have put out, even from the Fat Wreck Chords days.  My favorite is But Tonight We Dance, because it speaks to me personally.  While Rise Against is known for their political music, not all of it is message music.  It does, however, always convey emotion.  I can’t link to my favorite, because I can’t find it officially posted, so here’s one of my other favorites, Give It All.

The next song I wanted to link to is The Dance, by Garth Brooks, but he thinks YouTube is the devil…so fuck him.  Beautiful song, though.  He shares writing credit, so I imagine the other writer is very talented.  Besides, everyone knows that foosball is the devil.

To quote Monty Python, “And now for something completely different!”  Here is Bel Biv Devoe‘s Poison.  This is the remix version.  I prefer the original, but again, I only link to official uploads to be prevent being sued for…DA-DUM-DAAAA…one MILLION dollars!  Yes, it’s dated, yes, it’s cheesey, but it’s damn fun.

Audioslave.  Yes, the music is simple.  So?  Does it not make you feel?  Does it still sound good?  Then it does its job.  I don’t care if you liked Rage Against The Machine better, or think Chris Cornell should only sing with Soundgarden, you can’t deny that Like A Stone is a great song.

Home, by Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeroes.  This is OUR song.  You can’t have it!  It is mine and my Bear’s.  By that, I mean we don’t own it, but it is our song.  You can like it, but it is our song.  Okay, I’m sure tons of couples say that, but it’s ours!

DemonsImagine Dragons.  A little over produced, but a good song at its core, & the video may make you cry at the end.  Also, if you want to donate to the Tyler Robinson Foundation, that wouldn’t hurt my feelings any.

Those are the only links I have for you, because many artists don’t have the songs I was looking for officially on the Tube of You.  Either that, or I just didn’t feel like searching them all on your behalf.

But check out (legally), the following unlinked songs, and the ones above that are unlinked to as well…although maybe not the Garth Brooks song, because well…foosball.

You’re Coming Too CloseNo Use For A Name.  Buckingham GreenWeen.  Red RockThe Smokin’ Armadillos.  The Come On Eileen (cover version, originally by Dexy’s Midnight Runners) –Save Ferris.  BeerReel Big Fish.  Little WingJimi Hendrix.  I Want You BackThe Jackson Five.  California Dreamin’The Mamas and The Papas.  She’s GoneNOFX.  VoiceSprout.  Hey FellaClutch.  John The FishermanPrimus.  The Spirit of RadioRush.  Then find anything by Mozart, Bach, Beethoven, Chopin.  When you’re done with that, try Make It Hardcore by Public Enemy.

Do you see where I’m going with this?  If you like music, you’ll love it when you open to music from different genres.  Open your mind, and your ears.  Use your hearing while you have it.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

1 thought on “Where Words Leave Off”

Comments appreciated

